About us

The Pettenkofer School of Public Health Munich (PSPH) bundles public health activities in Munich. The PSPH consists of three partners: the Medical Faculty of LMU Munich, Helmholtz Zentrum München (HMGU) and the Bavarian Health and Food Safety Authority. This network is committed to the continuous improvement of public health research and health promotion and supports the development and transfer of new scientific methods into practice.

 

At the Medical Faculty of LMU Munich, the Institute for Medical Information Processing, Biometry and Epidemiology has a broad methodological expertise in conducting observational studies and randomized controlled trials as well as in the further development and application of new epidemiological and statistical methods.

 

The Bavarian Health and Food Safety Authority is the central expert authority for consumer health protection in Bavaria. As an interdisciplinary authority, the LGL performs a wide range of tasks: from risk analysis and communication, laboratory samples, scientific research projects to training for the public health service.

 

Helmholtz Zentrum München as part of the Helmholtz Association is the German Research Center for Environmental Health. Its research focuses on the emergence of widespread diseases in the context of environmental factors, lifestyle and individual genetic disposition and the development of new approaches for prevention, diagnosis and therapy. The HMGU focuses particularly on research on diabetes mellitus, allergies and chronic lung diseases.
 

Pettenkofer.jpg

About Max von Pettenkofer

Max von Pettenkofer (1818-1901) is the namesake of the Pettenkofer School of Public Health (PSPH). He is considered one of the founders of scientific hygiene and modern public health research. The physician, pharmacist, and chemist did not consider health solely as a medical problem, but also as a social and economic problem. This was a revolutionary view in his time.

In 1847, Pettenkofer was appointed professor of medicinal chemistry at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich. At that time, he was just 19 years old.  Some years later, Pettenkofer even became rector of LMU Munich. In 1865, also in Munich, he took over the first German professorship for hygiene and built the first institute of hygiene from 1876 to 1879.

Today's sewerage and drinking water supply system in Munich go back on a large part to initiatives by Max von Pettenkofer. When cholera broke out in the city in 1854, the scientist was commissioned to study the ways in which the disease spread. He assumed that the poor hygienic conditions were mainly responsible for the outbreak. At his suggestion, the city of Munich began the construction of an extensive sewage system, which is still in operation today.

His dispute with Robert Koch is famous. Contrary to his colleague from Berlin, Max von Pettenkofer did not believe that cholera spread via the recently discovered comma bacillus. To undermine his point of view, he even drank a solution with the pathogen in front of witnesses on October 7, 1892. He survived and got away with diarrhoea. It is unclear whether Pettenkofer was simply lucky or whether an earlier contact with the pathogen had made him resistant. Another theory is that his students may have secretly boiled the solution in advance to kill the pathogen.

Despite this error, scientists from all over the world visited Pettenkofer's institute to learn from his work in the 19th century. His concepts and methods thus shaped the development of public health in many countries. The founding of the renowned Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health - one of the leading academic public health institutions in the USA - is partly due to a visit to Pettenkofer’s institute in Munich.

Über uns

Die Pettenkofer School of Public Health München (PSPH) bündelt Public Health-Aktivitäten in München. Sie setzt sich aus drei Partnern zusammen: der Medizinischen Fakultät der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, dem Helmholtz Zentrum München und dem Bayerischen Landesamt für Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit. Dieses Netzwerk setzt sich für eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Public Health-Forschung sowie der Gesundheitsförderung ein und unterstützt die Entwicklung und den Transfer neuer wissenschaftlicher Methoden in die Praxis.

An der Medizinischen Fakultät der LMU München verfügt das Institut für Medizinische Informationsverarbeitung, Biometrie und Epidemiologie über eine breite methodische Expertise in der Durchführung von Beobachtungsstudien und randomisierten kontrollierten Studien sowie in der Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung neuer epidemiologischer und statistischer Verfahren.

Das Bayerische Landesamt für Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit ist die zentrale Fachbehörde für den gesundheitlichen Verbraucherschutz in Bayern. Das LGL nimmt als interdisziplinäre Fachbehörde eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben wahr: Von Risikoanalyse und -kommunikation, Laborproben, wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekten bis zur Ausbildung für den öffentlichen Gesundheitsdienst.

Das Helmholtz Zentrum München als Teil der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ist das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind das Entstehen von Volkskrankheiten im Zusammenspiel von Umweltfaktoren, Lebensstil und genetischer Disposition. Besonderen Fokus legt das Zentrum auf die Erforschung des Diabetes mellitus, Allergien und chronischer Lungenerkrankungen.

 

Über Max von Pettenkofer

Max von Pettenkofer (1818-1901) ist der Namensgeber der Pettenkofer School of Public Health (PSPH). Er gilt als einer der Begründer der wissenschaftlichen Hygiene und der modernen Public Health-Forschung. Der Mediziner, Pharmazeut und Chemiker betrachtete Gesundheit nicht als medizinisches, sondern auch als gesellschaftliches und wirtschaftliches Problem. Zu seiner Zeit war das eine revolutionäre Sichtweise.

Im Jahr 1847 wurde Pettenkofer zum Professor für medizinische Chemie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München berufen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war er gerade einmal 19 Jahre alt. Später leitete Pettenkofer die LMU München sogar als Rektor. 1865 übernahm er, ebenfalls in München, die erste deutsche Professur für Hygiene und erbaute von 1876 bis 1879 das erste Hygieneinstitut.

Die heutige Münchner Kanalisation und Trinkwasserversorgung gehen zum großen Teil auf Initiativen Max von Pettenkofers zurück. Als 1854 die Cholera in der Stadt ausbrach, erhielt der Wissenschaftler den Auftrag, die Verbreitungswege der Seuche zu untersuchen. Seine Vermutung: Vor allem die schlechten hygienischen Zustände waren für den Ausbruch der Krankheit verantwortlich. Auf seinen Vorschlag hin begann die Stadt München mit dem Bau eines ausgedehnten Abwasser-Kanalsystems, das heute noch im Betrieb ist.

Berühmt ist seine Auseinandersetzung mit Robert Koch. Im Gegensatz zu seinem Konkurrenten aus Berlin glaubte Max von Pettenkofer nicht an eine Ausbreitung der Cholera über den kürzlich entdeckten Kommabazillus. Um seinen Standpunkt zu untermauern, trank er am 7. Oktober 1892 vor Zeugen sogar eine Lösung mit dem Erreger. Er überlebte und kam mit einer Diarrhöe davon. Unklar ist, ob Pettenkofer schlicht Glück hatte oder ob er wegen eines früheren Kontakts mit dem Erreger noch resistent war. Eine weitere Theorie: Möglicherweise hatten seine Studenten die Lösung vorab heimlich abgekocht.

Trotz dieses Irrtums besuchten im 19. Jahrhundert Wissenschaftler aus der ganzen Welt Pettenkofers Institut, um von seiner Arbeit zu lernen. Seine Konzepte und Methoden prägten so die Entwicklung des Fachs Public Health in vielen Ländern. Die Gründung der renommierten Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health – eine der führenden akademischen Public Health Institution in den USA – ist mit auf einen Besuch an Pettenkofers Institut in München zurückzuführen.

© 2020 by PSPH   |   Impressum und Disclaimer