Master of Science

Epidemiology

 

M.Sc. Epidemiology is a four-semester, non-consecutive master's programme. Courses are held in English. The programme offers students the chance to learn how to analyze different problems in health-related fields and to plan, execute, and interpret studies.

 

Detailed information on the course of studies can be found on the homepage of the Institute for Medical Information Processing, Biometry and Epidemiology (IBE): Click here

What is Epidemiology?

Epidemiology examines which factors contribute to health or diseases in individuals or entire populations. In a world of evolving socioeconomic and environmental conditions and emerging new health risks, epidemiological methods enable a better understanding of the dynamics of current trends in health and the factors driving those, providing scientific knowledge for implementing evidence-based health measures.

 

The programme

The  programme  is  structured  in  accordance  with  the  Bologna  Process.  A  total  of  120  ETCS  credits must be acquired. All core lectures and courses are held in German. In the electives, students also have the opportunity to choose courses in German.

 

In the first semester, the curriculum covers fundamental topics in the core modules such as epidemiological basics, quantitative methods, and research skills. In the second and third semester, students have the possibility to choose electives according to their personal interests, while also gaining practical experience in two mandatory internships. In the fourth semester, students will write their master’s thesis.

 

Core modules (72 ECTS)
Quantitative Methods
Epidemiology and Research Design
Public Health Practice and Research
Research Skills
Internships
Master Colloquium
Master ́s Thesis

Specialisations (36 ECTS)
Clinical Epidemiology
Epidemiology (Advanced Methods in Epidemiology, Applied Epidemiology)
Genetic Epidemiology
Environmental, Occupational and Radiation Epidemiology
Advanced Biometry

Electives (12 ECTS)
Advanced Quantitative Methods
Recent Developments in Biostatistics
Applied Statistics in Epidemiology
Qualitative Methods
Health Communication
Prevention and Health Promotion
Social and Behavioural Sciences
Global Public Health
Public Mental Health
Health Services Research and Health Economics
Epidemiology of Diet and Lifestyle Factors

 

 

How to apply

Admission requirements for the master's programme are:

  • Completed university degree (bachelor’s degree or equivalent) in a health-related discipline such as: medicine, public health, pharmacy, natural sciences, nutritional sciences, psychology, social sciences, statistics, sports science, economics and business administration, law, communication science or any other discipline relevant to health sciences

  • Advanced competency in English

  • Foundational knowledge in mathematics and statistics

  • Formal application including curriculum vitae and certificates

  • Successful completion of written test

  • Successful completion of oral test


The current deadlines and details for application, written and oral tests can be found at https://bignode.ibe.med.uni-muenchen.de/epi/msc/index.html.

 

Your career in Epidemiology

A master's degree in epidemiology opens up career opportunities in many different areas.  Our students acquire solid theoretical and practical skills that qualify them for a career in science, but also in industry.

 

After graduating, some of our alumni decide to pursue a PhD diploma or continue working in research. Other graduates work in the pharmaceutical sector, in consulting, at health insurance companies, clinical research organisations and in governmental and non-governmental organizations.

Master of Science

Epidemiology

 

Der M.Sc. Epidemiology ist ein viersemestriger, nicht-konsekutiver Masterstudiengang. Studierende erwerben zahlreiche methodische und fachliche Kenntnisse, die sie dazu befähigen, verschiedene Probleme in gesundheitsbezogenen Bereichen zu analysieren sowie Studien zu planen, durchzuführen und zu interpretieren. Der Unterricht findet in englischer Sprache statt.

 

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang finden Sie auf der Homepage des Instituts für Medizinische Informationsverarbeitung, Biometrie und Epidemiologie (IBE):

Zur Homepage des IBE

 

Was ist Epidemiologie?

Epidemiologie untersucht, welche Faktoren zur Gesundheit oder zu Krankheiten bei Einzelpersonen oder ganzen Bevölkerungen beitragen. In einer Welt sich entwickelnder sozioökonomischer und ökologischer Bedingungen und neu auftretender Gesundheitsrisiken ermöglichen epidemiologische Methoden ein besseres Verständnis der Dynamik aktueller Gesundheitstrends und der sie antreibenden Faktoren und liefern wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse für die Umsetzung evidenzbasierter Gesundheitsmaßnahmen.

Aufbau des Studiengangs

Das Programm ist gemäß den Richtlinien der Bologna-Reform strukturiert. Studierende müssen über vier Semester insgesamt 120 ECTS erwerben. Vorlesungen, Kurse und Seminare finden in englischer Sprache statt. In den Wahlpflichtfächern haben Studierende auch die Möglichkeit, einige Kurse in deutscher Sprache zu belegen.

Im ersten Semester wird in den Pflichtmodulen grundlegendes Wissen zu Epidemiologie, quantitative Methoden und Forschungskompetenzen vermittelt. Im zweiten und dritten Semester haben Studierende die Möglichkeit, Wahlfächer gemäß ihren persönlichen Interessen zu belegen. Gleichzeitig sammeln sie in zwei Pflichtpraktika praktische Erfahrungen. Im vierten Semester steht die Masterarbeit auf dem Programm.

Pflichtmodule (72 ECTS)
Quantitative Methods
Epidemiology and Research Design
Public Health Practice and Research
Research Skills
Internships
Master Colloquium
Master's Thesis


Spezialisierungen (36 ECTS)
Clinical Epidemiology
Epidemiology (Advanced Methods in Epidemiology, Applied Epidemiology)
Genetic Epidemiology
Environmental, Occupational and Radiation Epidemiology
Advanced Biometry


Wahlfächer (12 ECTS)
Advanced Quantitative Methods
Recent Developments in Biostatistics
Applied Statistics in Epidemiology
Qualitative Methods
Health Communication
Prevention and Health Promotion
Social and Behavioural Sciences
Global Public Health
Public Mental Health
Health Services Research and Health Economics
Epidemiology of Diet and Lifestyle Factors

 


Zulassung und Bewerbung

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für das Masterprogramm sind:
 

  • Abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium (Bachelor oder gleichwertiger Abschluss) in einer gesundheitsbezogenen Disziplin wie: Medizin, öffentliches Gesundheitswesen, Pharmazie, Naturwissenschaften, Ernährungswissenschaften, Psychologie, Sozialwissenschaften, Statistik, Sportwissenschaften, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Rechtswissenschaften, Kommunikationswissenschaften oder einer anderen gesundheitsbezogenen Disziplin

  • Fortgeschrittene Englischkenntnisse

  • Grundlegende Kenntnisse in Mathematik und Statistik

  • Formale Bewerbung mit Lebenslauf und Zeugnissen

  • Bestandene schriftliche Aufnahmeprüfung

  • Bestandene mündlcieh Aufnahmeprüfung


Die aktuellen Termine und Details für die Bewerbung sowie die schriftlichen und mündlichen Prüfungen finden Sie auf der Homepage des IBE


Berufliche Perspektiven

Ein Master-Abschluss in Epidemiologie eröffnet Karrierechancen in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen.  Unsere Studierenden erwerben solide theoretische und praktische Fähigkeiten, die sie für eine Karriere in der Wissenschaft, aber auch in der Industrie qualifizieren.

Nach dem Abschluss entscheiden sich einige unserer Alumni für eine Promotion oder für die Fortsetzung der Forschungsarbeit. Andere Absolventen arbeiten im pharmazeutischen Sektor, in der Beratung, bei Krankenkassen, klinischen Forschungsorganisationen und in staatlichen und nichtstaatlichen Organisationen.

© 2020 by PSPH   |   Impressum und Disclaimer